Waiting on a Sunday

In anticipation of releasing my newest video on Youtube this week, I thought I would go through some of my older shorts and talk about them. This is part two.

Waiting on a Sunday is my personal favorite. I made this with two other partners the spring of 2008, again for a video production course at college. This was our final project for the class. While early on, my partners and I did not get along (they wanted to do a zombie flick and I wanted to do a rom-com) somehow we managed to settle on a gangster movie. It must have taken a month to write and film everything, but it was a quick month and we had fun (at least at the screening). One of my favorite moments from that filming was getting kicked out of the visiting scholar house by a school official. Trespassing, that’s guerilla filmmaking!

Likes:

–The casting. We chose all friends to be in the film, and it worked well. I already had a rapport with everyone on set, so there were no barriers in terms of our communication. No star fits. Movies are always easier when the actors want to be there.

–The mall scene. Acting this montage was fun and watching it now is still fun. Whenever I hear that MGMT song I still feel giddy. It feels fresh to me and perks up the movie when it needs some movement.

–The music. “In the House in a Heartbeat” by John Murphy (from 28 Days Later another awesome Danny Boyle movie) worked really well as our climactic music. Funny how sometimes through sheer luck, music can enhance and come to support the plot. I still get chills when that final moment comes and Sergio holds the gun ready to shoot. I don’t know what will happen even today. This is the reason there needs to be a sequel.

Dislikes:

–The first scene. I wish I could have cut this down by about two minutes. It feels too long right now.

–My acting. Why am I so goofy in this movie? I should be more serious. I remember at the screening most people were laughing through the film. I wanted to tell them this isn’t what you think, it’s a serious film. But, I guess anything I do people laugh.

–Cunningham’s voice. I wish I had more time to coach the actor who played Cunningham. I feel we could have done a better job with his accent, instead of manipulating the pitch in Final Cut. It just sounds funny and sort of out of place.

One response to “Waiting on a Sunday

  1. Yeah, haha, you were a little goofy. But I kinda thought it was part of the character? Ditto Cunningham’s voice.

    Still, pretty neat little film!

Leave a Reply

