Resolutions

So, this post will be pretty short. I want to wish you a Happy New Years and to share a story and my New Years resolution, too.

My brother visited me in Los Angeles this fall and while there he insisted on seeing a friend from an old law firm. All vacation, while we were at Dodger Stadium, in the apartment, and out on the road, he would call and text in order to get in touch with this friend. Once, they planned to meet at a bar, but that plan fizzled. Finally, they agreed on a time, and the last night of his visit, sure enough, the friend rolls up in his sports car, walks to the curb, and has an awkward conversation with us for about ten minutes in front of my apartment. I asked if he wanted to come in and sit down, and he said he would rather not, and that was the end of the encounter.

Later, I asked my brother why after all of that time he insisted on meeting up with this former coworker. He said that he was tired of “not following through” on things. He had spent too much of his life turning people down, not following up, and missing appointments. It made me realize that I too hadn’t done such a good job of this either. There were relationships the past year I had neglected, ideas I had sent to bed, whole destinies I had just off-handedly rejected. And I realized I needed to make a better showing of things. You have to meet the former coworker. You have to be a friend. You shouldn’t flake out.

And for me this “following through” thing means I have to sell the screenplay. That is my resolution. I have to do what I set out to do; that is the reason I drove to California with my mom in the car in the first place. So, this year foremost among my goals is to be a screenwriter. This has always been my goal. I am not about to let go of it. Not this year at least.

My Brother and I Saw Crosby, Stills, and Nash at the Greek Theatre

4 responses to “Resolutions

  1. Hmm, did I share my resolutions with you already? Well, there are 2:

    1. Get an agent.
    2. Save money. (Because 2009 was a year of spending.)

    And I know #1 is largely out of my control, but the point of course is to do everything that IS in my control to make it happen. 🙂

    Go us! Good luck in 2010! 😀

  2. Hmm…Too bad I don’t know any agents. Would recommend you to a few. Thanks for the support as always.

  3. Pingback: I’ll show you mine if you show me yours… • Kristan Hoffman

  4. You and me both, brother. We’ll talk more when I get my ass down there in two weeks.

Leave a Reply

