The Writer’s Almanac

Sometimes serendipity works. I was driving home last night from work and stumbled upon “The Writer’s Almanac” again. For anyone not in the know, Garrison Keillor of Prairie Home Companion fame hosts a short four-minute program each weekday; he tells us something interesting about the date and reads a poem. I truly think this is required listening for anyone interested in writing, a small oasis in an otherwise hostile desert of rejection slips and writer’s block. It’s comfort food.

I first listened to the show in fourth grade, if you can believe it. I would wake up early and catch it when it came on at about five-thirty in the morning on WAMU. I do not remember the names of the poems or any of the wisdom imparted by the man, but I do remember his trademark sign-off:

“Be well, do good work, and keep in touch.”

Which is pretty much all of the advice you ever need, if you really think about it.

http://writersalmanac.publicradio.org/

4 responses to “The Writer’s Almanac

  1. Haha I LOVE that sign-off. Thanks for reminding me of this!

  2. Good to hear you listen in too. I’m not sure if I like this program more than “Prairie Home Companion.” Can’t decide.

  3. I will check it out. I’ve never heard of it, but then again, radio is fairly new technology in my life. Thank you podcasts!

  4. Rebecca – Yes. Please check it out and tell me what you think. You may get addicted.

Leave a Reply

