Good News…Finally

OK. So, this blog has gotten pretty dark over the past few weeks, and I’m sorry for that. So, here’s some good news, finally:

An article I wrote just appeared on Collegenews.com:

http://www.collegenews.com/index.php?/careers/how_to_make_a_career_change_8523890458902390

As I consider making a career change after college, I might as well cover it, right? And I continue to blog on Grockit.com, an online test prep website:

http://blog.grockit.com/collegeprep/

Scroll a bit, people, I am there.

Anyway, if I could, I would freelance for a living, but unfortunately, that’s not financially reasonable, yet. I love the freedom of freelancing, the ability to write and rewrite and imagine an article until I can get it right. I also like the flexibility it offers in terms of my schedule. It’s nice to wake up in the morning, roll out of bed, log onto the computer and write something. What could ever be better than that?

This is all making me reconsider whether I ever want to be a personal assistant, production assistant, or any other type of entry level person in the entertainment industry. Why? There are ways to break in, and I know for me it will never be by serving coffee. I don’t even like coffee! Then again, you have to get out there and meet people if you ever want to make it. I wish there were another way—where are all the openings for staff writers? Oh well.

4 responses to “Good News…Finally

  1. Yay for bylines! Keep at it. The right opportunity will show its face someday, and when it does, you’ll want to be ready!

  2. thanks for stopping by yellowdog grannie’s
    I appreciate it…
    do what gets your foot in the door and then talent will take you the rest of the way.

  3. I couldn’t write without coffee… drinking way too much : )

  4. I like your article. We have many students at our school who simple want a career change and learn something about filmmaking, audio techniques or webdesign (it’s the three major studies we offer). So, it’s partially a graduate school and a college for high school graduates who already know where they want to head for. It’s nice meeting all the people of all kind of different ages and with all the different experience gained from the non-media businesses, for instance. Funny at times, too.

Leave a Reply

